If your college student receives charges for a criminal offense such as driving while intoxicated, your first concern is probably for his or her future. Convictions can affect finances, job eligibility, education and many other areas.
Review the possible penalties for a criminal conviction during college if your child faces a court date in New York.
For a DWI in New York, drivers younger than 21 receive fines of $225. If your student is 21 or older, fines increase to $300 to $500 for an initial offense depending on blood alcohol content. Possession of cannabis, a common college student offense, carries a fine of up to $250. Possession of small amounts of other drugs can result in fines of up to $1,000.
Driver’s license consequences
Drivers younger than 21 will receive a six-month license suspension for a first-time DWI. The second DWI results in license suspension until age 21. As a result, your child may struggle to travel to school and work. You may live in an area with limited public transportation, which creates a barrier to gainful education and employment without a driver’s license. Older students charged with DWI may receive a 90-day license suspension.
Consequences for your child’s education vary depending on the policies at his or her college or university. Students who receive misdemeanor or felony charges may be subject to disciplinary actions such as expulsion, scholarship loss, loss of student housing, or restricted participation in sports and other campus activities.
Understanding the charges your child faces is the first step to protecting his or her future.